The Tour of Ulster started today in the Banbridge with 95.8 miles to cover. By the time the race reached 21 miles covered 20 riders had a24 second lead group. The group consisted of James Curry (Dan, Sean Hahessy (Dan, Ronan McLaughlin (Dan, Gareth McKee (Banbridge Composite), David Montgomery (Banbridge Composite), Gareth O’Neill (Newry Wheelers CC), Jude Sands (Newry Wheelers CC), Donal Shearer (Phoenix CC), Karl Morgan (Phoenix CC), Lindsay Watson (Powerhouse Sport), Ben Joughin (Pro Vision Race Team UK), Charlie Prendergast (STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team), John Buller (Team Bioracer-DHL-FR Services), Luke Smith (Team Bioracer-DHL-FR Services), Darnell Moore (Team Caldwell Cycles), Peter Hawkins (Team Upshift Velo), Ross Walton (Team Upshift Velo), Marc Heaney (Velo Revo), Coen van Kleef (Westland Wil Vooruit) & Craig Rea (Zero Boys). They were caught by 28 miles covered.

2 riders then attacked on the second KOH with 33 miles covered. They were Mark Dowling (Cycling Leinster) & Dermot Trulock (Cycling Leinster). They had a lead of 46 seconds as they crested the KOH. Sean Hahessy (Dan then went off in pursuit of the 2 leaders and joined them before the third KOH of the day, and the main field at 1 minute.

Cian Keogh (Powerhouse Sport) & Angus Fyffe (Team Caldwell Cycles) went in pursuit of the 3 leaders and joined them just after the fourth KOH at Rathfriland.

Gareth O’Neill (Newry Wheelers CC) joined the 5 leaders as the race approached Spelga Dam, but the race then regrouped on the climb.

3 riders then attacked over Spelga Dam. They are Ronan McLaughlin (Dan, Donal Shearer (Phoenix CC) & James Jobber (Team Upshift Velo). They were then joined by Conor Hennebry (Dan, JB Murphy (Cycling Leinster), Charlie Prendergast (STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team) & Matthew Sparrow (Zero Boys), and they had a 37 lead over 10 chasers.

By the final KOH of the day the lead was 1 minute 23 seconds over the pink jersey group. Matthew Sparrow (Zero Boys) then punctured out of the front group.

Conor Hennebry (Dan has attacked off the front group and was joined by JB Murphy (Cycling Leinster) with just over 5km to go. They built up a lead of 15 seconds, with JB Murphy (Cycling Leinster) winning a 2 up sprint.

The new race leader is Conor Hennebry (Dan

The leader of the King of the Hills competition after day 2 is Lindsay Watson (Powerhouse Sport).

The stage tomorrow starts at Banbridge RFC, Banbridge (09.45 am) and finishing at Newry Road, Banbridge (12.30pm), and this 71.7 mile stage is another tough stage with 6 climbs on route.

Stage 2 Result – Banbridge – Banbridge (95.8 miles)

Place   Name                           Team                          
1          Murphy, JB                  Cycling Leinster
2          Hennebry, Conor          Dan 
3          McLaughlin, Ronan       Dan 
4          Jobber, James             Team Upshift Velo                    
5          Prendergast, Charlie     STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team