Top class field competes in Foyle GP in Killea, County Donegal – strong showing from host club Foyle Cycling

foyle logo

A fantastic day’s cycling on Sunday in Killea, Donegal, for Foyle Cycling Club saw over 170 riders from all across Ireland participate in the club’s annual GP.

foyle gp 16

Club cyclists from Belfast, Castlebar, Dublin, Emyvale, Westport and every major town in Ulster were represented.

Christopher McGlinchey of ChainReaction Cycles  took the top honour in the A1 category, with Foyle’s own Ronan McLauglin coming in third; Conor Gallagher of Castlebar CC took the top spot in A3; and Thomas McLauglin of Foyle continued his fantastic season with top spot in A4. 

Jane Millar of Bann Wheelers in Coleraine won the women’s race and Benny O’Kane of Square Wheels came first in M50.

Club PRO Ronan Gallagher said: ‘weather wise the day was perfect. With a 170-strong field competing across all categories, it was a fantastic day’s cycling. The club would like to thank the people of Killea for their support and all drivers for being so accommodating on the roads.’

There’s no let-up in the racing season as it continues on Sunday 31 July when Foyle Cycling Club host  the Ulster 10 Mile Time Trial Championship on the Eglinton circuit. Sign on at

foyle gp 16 2 foyle gp 16 3

Results – Foyle GP 2016.

1 Christopher McGlinchey ChainReaction Cycles
2 Craig McAuley Caldwell Cycles
3 Ronan McLaughlin Foyle Cycling Club
4 Marcus Christie Asea Wheelworx
5 Richard Meaney Westport Covey Wheelers
6 Karl Morgan Phoenix Cycling Club
7 Jason Henry Unattached
8 Keith Philipps North Down Cycling Club
9 Darnell Moore Caldwell Cycles
10 Johnny Taylor Carn Wheelers



  A3 Race
1 Conor Gallagher Castlebar Cycling Club
2 Richard Maybin Madigan Cycling Club
3 Nathan Weir Jnr Harps Cycling Club
4 Gary Walker Madigan Cycling Club
5 Gavin Oakes Phoenix Cycling Club
6 Gavin O’Neill Foyle Cycling Club
7 Patrick Whithers Fintona Cycling Club
8 Paul Stenson East Antrim Cycling Club
9 James Kelly St Tiernan’s Cycling Club
10 Daniel Logue Foyle Cycling Club


A4 race

1 Thomas McLaughlin Foyle Cycling Club
2 Vincent Mort Ballycastle Cycling Club
3 Daniel Mullan Roe Valley Cycling Club
4 Stephen Neill Clogher Valley Wheelers
5 Ronald McDaid Saddle-Rock Cycling Club
6 Michael Anderson North West Cycling Club
7 Robin Wilson Ards Cycling Club
8 Roger Brown Roe Valley Cycling Club
9 Richard Hanna Ards Cycling Club
10 Peter Smith Unattached


Women`s race

1 Jane Millar Bann Wheelers
2 Julie Mulligan Strule Wheelers


Masters Race.


1 Benny O’Kane Square Wheelers
2 Finbarr Dooey Dunloy Cycling Club
3 Sammy McFadden Foyle Cycling Club