The Ulster racing scene continues this weekend with a national series race in the form of the John Beggs Memorial on Saturday followed by the Billy Stewart Cup races and Champion of Champions TT on Sunday. More details below.

John Beggs Memorial – Saturday 11 August

The John Beggs Memorial is back for 2018 and once again looks set be a highlight of the Irish cycling calendar on Saturday 11th August. Using the same course as in 2017, which proved to be popular with riders and spectators alike, the event will play host to the 5th round of the Cycling Ireland National Road Series and is sure to attract the best of Ireland’s elite men and women.

The 30km circuit takes the riders out of Dromore, winding and rolling through the villages of Kinallen and Dromara with the Mourne mountains as a backdrop, making their way toward Hillsborough before they turn back once again in the direction of Dromore. With the climbs of Ballykeel Hill, Kinallen and Ballykeel scattered around the circuit, mass bunch finishes are an unlikely outcome for most races. All races will exit the circuit for the final run into Dromore town before the final climb to the finish line atop Mount St.

There will be 4 races hosted on the day; The Men’s A1/A2 race and the Women’s race will both be part of the National Road Series and will be supported by two separate races accommodating the A3 & A4 category riders.

The A1/A2 men will complete 4 laps to give them approx. 128km of racing, while the Women and A3 races will both cover 3 laps for total race distance of 98km. The A4 race will complete 2 laps, giving them 68km.
We’ve been delighted to see the continued rise in standard of the Women’s field competing in the National Series events and, subject to a minimum entry or 30 riders, will be rewarding both the men and women’s National Series races with an equal and generous prize pot of over £750 cash each covering the top 8 riders, with both winners pocketing £200 for their efforts.

Winner of the 2017 John Beggs Memeorial, Adam Stenson, has went on to become a regular on the Irish National U23 team and currently is based with Swiss Elite National Team Speeder Cycling Team, while the winner of the 2017 women’ race, Eve McCrystal, has since added to her already lengthy and impressive palmarès and is a current reigning World, Paralympic and National Champion.

All races will be pre-entry and will open for registration on Monday 30th July on the Cycling Ireland Azolve website at a cost of £15. Riders are asked to pre-enter to assist with event administration and management including the live race updates which will be available via the Banbridge CC Twitter stream. Entry on the day, subject to availability, will be at a cost of £20 per rider.

All races will start at 12 noon and will roll out from the new Event HQ at Dromore High School.


Billy Stewart Cup – Sunday 12 August

The annual Billy Stewart races take place on Sunday 12th August 2018. Racing Starts at 1pm.

This will be the third year using our new course – which takes in the village of Warringstown as well as through the greater Lurgan town – a challenging course with mixes of very flat fast open roads and some small but sharp hills as you climb the rolly Clare Road around the middle section of each lap before a fast flat run for the finish which will give the bigger men a chance to recover before the sprint for the line on the main Lurgan Gilford road in the middle of housing developments which is sure to get the spectators out.

The course has been designed by Apollo rider James Wilson which many of you will know has a long history of success racing in Ulster and beyond over the last 2 decades and who is currently an A2 racer and brings alot of experience as well as knowing what riders want!

This year we are back at Good Year Social Club as race HQ – and will do a neutral roll out to the race circuit on the Lurgan Gilford Road 3 miles away.

This year with a prize fund of £500 we will run thenfollowing;

A2/3 race – Billy Stewart Cup;
A4 race
Ladies Race / Vets Race
Details as follows.

Enter via Entry Central £15 or £20 on the day subject to places.

RACE DIRECTORS : Enda McDaid / Paul McCormac

Head Marshals : Gerard Smyth / Sean Haughey

for more info :
mob 07711105471
Sign on all categories 11:00 – 12:15

Race HQ / Sign on : Goodyear Sports & Social Club Silverwood Rd, Lurgan, Craigavon BT66 6LN 54.467312, -6.372593

Race start / finish : Gilford Rd Lurgan, Craigavon BT66 7AE 54.448234, -6.326663

12.40 Roll out to Start Finish area three miles away on the Lurgan Gilford Road

Race start order and distances:
13:00 : A2/A3 : 6 laps – 90km
13:05 : A4 : 5 laps – 75km
13:10 : Masters/ Women: 3 laps – 45km

Refreshments with some food after races with presentation in the Good Year Club.


Champion of Champions TT – Sunday 12 August

The Champion of Champions Time Trial promoted by Ards CC takes place on Sunday 12th August. In the past this event has attracted and Olympic Champion and World Hour record holders Chris Boardman and Graeme Obree. Chris Boardman holds the course and event record with a time of 49:36, set in 1993. Craig McAuley of Caldwell Cycles was last year’s winner with a time of 52:56 mins.

Sign on opens at 8:30am in the Londonderry Park car park in Newtownards, closes at 9:20am with the first rider off at 9:30am sharp. A Limited Competition Licence is required as a minimum. The entry fee is £10.

The 25 mile course is our traditional out and back course with a dead turn outside Kircubbin / Saltwater Brig.