Cycling Ulster Chairman, Tommy McCague has congratulated the Ulster winners at the Cycling Ireland Awards at the City West Hotel in Dublin at the weekend. 

Speaking after the Awards event, he said:

“On behalf of Cycling Ulster, I want to congratulate Foyle CC and Dany Blondeel on winning their respective membership awards. 

“Foyle CC were worthy winners of the best competitive event following their promotion of the national road championships in June. 

“There is no doubt hosting the national road championships is a major undertaking and it was a fantastic success.

“Dany Blondeel was rewarded with the national volunteer of the year award thanks to his work with the Belgian Project which offers young Irish riders the opportunity to compete on the road in Belgium as well as offering bursaries to Irish riders in all cycling disciplines.

“The work of the Belgian project has helped many Ulster riders in their cycling careers and will hopefully continue to do so in the coming years.

“I also want to thank all those who voted for them.”

Cycling Ulster riders also picked up other awards on the night through Lydia Boylan (Special Achievement), Mark Downey (Special Achievement), Katharine Smyth (National Road Series – Winner), James Curry (National Road Series – Second) and Darnell Moore (National Road Series – Third)

Click here to see full report and photos from Cycling Ireland.