Tomorrow (Wednesday) will see the Cycling Ulster team take to the roads of Kilkenny and neighbouring counties to compete over five days at the international An Post Rás na mBan. A strong squad has been assembled for the event by the Cycling Ulster Women’s Commission which will ensure the  O’Reilly Stewart Solicitors and MDS sponsored Ulster jersey will be in the thick of the action throughout the week.

Last year the team was awarded both the Irish county team and rider prizes, with returning rider Claire McIlwaine (Phoenix CC) claiming the latter title.

Claire will again be joined by team mates, Para-World Cup Gold medallist Katharine Smyth (Team Madigan) and Irish National TT Champion Eileen Burns (Ballymena Road Club).

New additions to 2017 team are Lisa Lamont (Team Madigan) and Sharon Bird (Team Madigan).

Best of luck to all the riders and the support team!