The 2018 Cycling Ulster Awards night was held on Sunday 27th January in The Greenvale Hotel, Cookstown. Almost 200 attendees were there to see medals, cups and trophies presented to riders of all ages from the various disciplines.

Commenting on a fantastic evening of celebration, Cycling Ulster Chair, Tommy McCague said:

“The awards night is always a special occasion for our members and their families, particularly those who train hard all year round to achieve success in the competitive aspect of the sport. There was a great attendance from across Ulster and I want to thank everyone for making the effort to join us. We had some special guests on the night including the Cycling Ireland President, Ciaran McKenna, Cycling Ireland Board Members, Ronan McLaughlin and Anthony Mitchell and representatives of our kit sponsor, Kevin Hegarty and Dionne Darragh.

“There was a lot of hard work put into organising the awards ceremony, thanks to Martin Grimley for his role as MC and for his help in preparing the event as well as Carmel Hunter, Carmel-Anne Hunter and Oliver Hunter and the staff at The Greenvale Hotel.

“Finally, congratulations to all our award winners from 2018. We have another exciting year ahead and I look forward to seeing much more success for the province in 2019.”

Membership Awards

The ‘2018 Membership Awards’ as voted for online by CU members were kept a secret until the presentation. The winners were; Toby Watson (Volunteer), Foyle 3-Day (Competitive Event), Emyvale CC (Club), Gabriel Bell Tour of Monaghan (Leisure Event) and The Bike House (Bike Shop).


Links to some photos and a list of the prize winners can be seen below.

CU Awards 2018 Prize Winners

The Belgian Project Photos

Bronagh Kirk Photos