2017 Cycling Ulster AGM Notice

The Cycling Ulster Executive have confirmed the details for the 2017 AGM and the notice can be seen below, this has also been emailed to club secretaries. Speaking ahead of the AGM, Cycling Ulster Chairman, Maurice McAllister said “2017 has been a busy year for the Cycling Ulster Executive and our Commissions. There have been many positive developments during the year including increased investment in the sport by the governing body, ranging from the purchasing of a Car and Van that has been used to support our Commissions in competitive events as well as supporting clubs in their various promotions to the appointment of a Membership Development Officer for the province. We look forward to reviewing 2017 at the AGM and look forward to planning for 2018.”

Maurice added, “the foundations of our sport are the volunteers and it is hoped that clubs and members will take the opportunity to have their say on the future of Cycling Ulster by attending the AGM.”

The 2017 Cycling Ulster AGM will take place at 12.00 noon on Saturday 4th November at Quinn’s Corner, 175, Ballygawley Rd, Donaghmore, Dungannon, County Tyrone, BT70 1RX. This is a central location and has disabled access. Any Cycling Ulster member who wishes to attend will be most welcome, however only club delegates have the authority to vote. Light refreshments will be provided. We would encourage all clubs to send along representatives to the AGM.

All club secretaries have been notified by email of this AGM and have received the appropriate forms. We are also seeking nominations for Club of the Year and Volunteer of the Year.  If you have any queries do not hesitate to ask. Contact the Secretary Carl Fullerton by email carlfullerton@hotmail.com.

Nominations and Motions

All nominations to be addressed at the AGM must be must be received by the Honorary Secretary, Carl Fullerton, by Saturday 21st October 2017. These must be made by the clubs and have the approval of the club. Nominations must have the knowledge and support of the nominee.

All motions to be addressed at the AGM must be must be received by the Honorary Secretary, Carl Fullerton, by Saturday 21st October 2017. These must be made by the clubs and have the approval of the club. To receive Motion and Nomination forms please request these by e-mail from carlfullerton@hotmail.com.

Clubs are entitled to one delegate per ten members up to a maximum of 6 delegates based on Cycling Ireland membership.

e.g. 22 members =2 delegates          75 members = 6 delegates

Agenda for Cycling Ulster Annual General Meeting

Chairman’s Address – Maurice McAllister

Ordinary Business

1. To adopt the attached standing orders for the orderly conduct of the AGM

2. To consider the minutes of the 2016 Annual General Meeting

3. To receive the Treasurer’s Financial Update

4. To fix the Cycling Ulster membership levy for 2018

· Cycling Ulster propose that the membership levy is set at £10 stg per senior member.

5. Reports : To receive reports from Cycling Ulster Commissions and/or Office bearers

6. To elect 4 Officers to the Executive

7. Motions

Following the business of the AGM there will be two presentations

1. Presentation by Cycling Ireland

2. Presentation by Gary Lavery, Club Development Officer for Ulster

Close of Business


Standing Orders for 2017 Cycling Ulster AGM

1. The mover and seconder may speak but any subsequent amendment must be moved, seconded before discussion is allowed.

2. Members shall be permitted to speak only once.

3. The right of reply shall be held by movers of motions and amendments following which the motion shall be put.

4. Such replies shall be confined to answering previous speakers and shall not introduce new matter into the discussion.

5. On points of order, the Honorary Chairperson’s decision shall be final, but he shall not refuse to consider such same.