In a thrilling weekend`s racing in County Donegal, the Cycling Ulster Junior squad all put up fine performances to run out winners in the Team competition after three hard days of racing.

donegal2  Overall, Banbridge Under-23 rider James Curry (L) stamped his authority on the event, finishing runner up on Saturday`s Time Trial, and again in Saturday afternoon`s stage – to dislodge overnight leader Adam Stenson (Bikeworx Celbridge)
Curry; perhaps best known for his Mountain Bike exploits, made no mistakes in the final day`s road stage, winning it to secure overall victory in the 148-mile three day event in a time of 6 hours 5minutes and 23 seconds; 47 seconds ahead of Kevin McKinney (velo Café Magasin) with Geoff Robinson (Bray Wheelers) a further second back.

Curry`s Banbridge compatriot Cameron McIntyre was first Junior in 5th overall, closely followed by Stage 1 winner Stenson in 6th with Ulster`s Marc Heaney (below) leading the Ulster Junior`s to Team Classification victory with a fine 9th overall.



Ras Donegal. Final Overall Standings.

1   Curry,James             U23        Cycle Sierra Nev   6h05’23”
2   McKinney,Kevin               2       Velo Cafe Magasi   6h06’10”     @47″
3   Robinson,Geoffrey          2        Bray Wheelers CC   6h06’11”    @48″
4   McGarvey,Colm M40      2         Epic MTB/Expert    6h07’00”    @01’37”
5   McIntyre,Cameron          J         Cycle Sierra Nev   6h07’10”     @01’47”
6   Stenson,Adam                J         Bikeworx Celbrid   6h07’26”     @02’03”
7   Sutcliffe,Cian                 U23      Lucan Cycling Ro   6h07’43”    @02’20”
8   Buchanan,Mark             2         Caldwell Cycles    6h07’50”       @02’27”
9   Heaney,Marc                 J          Cycling Ulster     6h08’00”         @02’37”
10  Corkery,Dillon               J          Cork Giant Team    6h09’10”     @03’47”
12th Moore, Calvin             J          Cycling Ulster.
16th Flevele, Ethan.            J         Cycling Ulster.
34th Thompson, Stewart.    J         Cycling Ulster.
67th Armstrong, Matthew.   J         Cycling Ulster.


The victorious Ulster Junior squad – Marc Heaney, Calvin Moore, Matthew Armstrong, Ethan Flevele & Stewart Thompson.





Team Classification.
1 Cycling Ulster 18h27’31”
2 Errigal CC @ 05’40”
3 Cycling Leinster @ 14’35”
4 Yates Country @ 21’50”
5 Four Masters CC @ 26’04”
6 Apollo CC @ 27’13”
7 St. Tiernans @ 37’29”
8 Belgian Project @ 54’32”
9 Castlebar CC @ 1h10’33”
10 Foyle CC  @ 1h20’52”
11 PhoenixCC @ 1h24’26”
12 Scott Orwell @ 1h49’29”